Being charged with a second DWI offense within 10 years of your first offense can result in a class E felony. If this happens to you, you could be ordered to pay fines, serve community service and may even be imprisoned. You will also be expected to have an ignition interlock device installed on your car.
This device is similar to a Breathalyzer. It requires you to blow into it in order to measure your alcohol level; if the level is too high, the car will not start. If you are someone who is about to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle, then there are a few things that you should understand about how it works.
1. Even if you don't own a vehicle, the restriction still applies to whatever car you drive. This means that if you borrow, lease or even rent a car, you will be expected to have the ignition interlock devices installed.
2. If you don't comply with the IID requirements, you could face fines and imprisonment. Failure to install the ignition interlock device in each vehicle you own usually results in a fine of $150 to $600 and/or up to six months imprisonment at the court's discretion. You may also have a mandatory six months added to the lID order period. If you happen to have a second violation within the next five years, this could result in fines up to $1,000.
3. If you attempt to disconnect or tamper with the lID, it will be detected. If you attempt to circumvent or disconnect the lID, this will activate the car's emergency lights as well as the horn. Not only will this incident be recorded in the device's memory, but it will also result in fines, a mandatory six-month extension period or possibly jail time. Tampering or circumvention includes attempting to rewire the device or having someone else, either human or animal, give a breath sample for you.
4. State laws vary when it comes to ignition interlock devices. For example, in the state of New York, a person sentenced for driving while intoxicated is required to have an ignition interlock device installed for six months on any vehicle they own or operate. However, in Massachusetts, interlock devices are only required after a person's second drunk driving offense. Once again states vary considerably, and it's important to find out your state's DWI and ignition interlock device laws.
It's best to make sure that you understand all of the laws that apply to ignition interlock devices, as this will ensure that you remain within the guidelines. Always consult with an attorney if you arrested or ticketed for driving while intoxicated.