Charged With A First-Time DWI Offense?

At first-time DWI arrest is a frightening event with high legal stakes. If convicted, you face fines, increased insurance rates and the automatic suspension of your driver's license. You may even face jail time, depending on the circumstances of the offense and your record.

The best thing you can do at this time is to talk to a criminal defense attorney who knows how to fight drunk driving charges in New York.

Let Our Experience Calm Your Fears

At The Law Offices of Remy R. Perot & John L. Kotchick, III, our lawyers have extensive experience defending against first-offense DWI charges for clients in Binghamton and throughout Broome County and the Southern Tier of New York.

We understand the fear and anxiety that accompany a DWI arrest. We are here to provide you with the skilled representation you need to put this matter behind you so you can move on with your life.

What Are The Potential Penalties?

The penalties for a first-time DWI offense are harsh, and include:

  • $500 - $1,000 in fines
  • Driver's license suspension of at least six months
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle
  • Up to one year in jail or prison
  • Up to three years' probation

In addition to these criminal penalties, there are other ways a conviction can hurt you. For instance, a permanent mark on your criminal record can make it difficult to find future employment or get into the school of your choice.

Don't Give Up

Although the penalties are severe, there is hope. Remember, you are innocent until proven guilty in the eyes of the law. Our DWI defense lawyers will carefully examine every aspect of your case to find and expose weaknesses.

Talk To An Attorney Today

The sooner we can begin building a defense case for you, the better chance we have of helping you obtain a favorable outcome. To arrange your initial consultation, please contact us online or by telephone at 607-772-8440 or 800-818-8010.